cake banner

The theme for the annual Bake Off competition at Oathall is the South of England Agricultural Society. This year they are celebrating 50 years of showcasing agriculture, horticulture and the countryside.

This year eight finalists were selected from entries by students from Oathall and Warden Park. Competitors were given 4 hours to bake and decorate their cake creations before they were judged by John de Longa, President of the Haywards Heath Rotary club and his colleagues Nigel Voakes and Vic O’Farrell along with Anne Bradshaw and Sue Perkins from Franklands Village Women’s Institute and Oathall’s Catering Manager, Sue Denyer.

The cake decoration reflected themes of farming & the countryside as well as the South of England Show. The standard of baking & taste from all the candidates was extremely high and deciding on a winner was a difficult decision for the judges. In the end, they awarded first prize to Janu Ramkissun, second prize went to Seren Billson and third prize went to Emily Brock. All the competitors received an embroidered apron and recipe book for taking part with gift vouchers for the top three places.

The cakes made by the students will go on display at the Ardingly Showground, in the Norfolk Pavilion at the weekend.

The Finalists were:

Seren Billson – Oathall
Emily Brock – Oathall
Nina Kashdan – Oathall
Max Lewry – Oathall
Alexandra Negru – Oathall
Janu Ramkissun – Warden Park
Phoebe Skinner – Warden Park
Anna Southon – Oathall