The Oathall Curriculum

The Oathall Curriculum encapsulates, in the broadest sense, what our students are expected to learn. It sets out the knowledge and skills that students should acquire in lessons and also extends to learning that takes place beyond lessons. The design of the curriculum at all levels is underpinned by the following principles.

A curriculum that:

  • remains as broad and balanced as possible for all students
  • is driven by high expectations for all
  • clearly sets out the knowledge and skills that will be acquired
  • develops strong literacy and numeracy skills so that students can communicate confidently
  • places an importance on learning independently
  • is planned, structured and sequenced so that knowledge is learnt securely and reinforced over time
  • is adapted for students with special educational needs and / or disabilities
  • promotes practical competency within each subject
  • opens students’ minds to their possible futures
  • provides enriching experiences that contribute to building character and cultural experiences.

The links below provide the Curriculum Learning Journey for each subject. These show the topics covered as well as the knowledge and skills that are developed as students progress through their school career. They also pose the key questions that need to be answered within each subject. Detailed curriculum maps are available on the individual subject information pages.


Business Studies

Computer Science


Design Technology



Hospitality and Catering


Child Development

Sports Studies

Mathematics – Foundation

Mathematics – Higher

Modern Foreign Languages


Physical Education

Physical Education – GCSE

Personal Development

Religious Studies